Pittsburgh Claude D. Pepper Older Americans Independence Center

The Pepper Center embraces developing the workforce through a multilevel progressive training program. We strive to promote their careers through career development activities, education and training, and support. We have:

  • Pepper Scholars - Junior faculty who have achieved an initial level of expertise and productivity, whose research time is supported by Pepper funds.
  • RCDC Novice Trainees - Early stage investigators who are in the initial level of training and are preparing for a career award.
  • RCDC Visiting Scholars - Trainees from around the word who come to Pittsburgh to collaborate with Pepper investigators.
  • Transition to Independence - Junior Faculty who have received independent career awards, whose research time is supported by their career award.

Pepper Scholars

Laurie Sanders, PhD Shachi Tyagi

(Return to Top)

RCDC Visiting Scholars

Leslie Dekker, PhD, University of Nebraska

Patricia Kearney, PhD, Trinity College, Dublin Ireland

Ana Beatriz de Tommaseo, MD, Federal University Sao Paulo, Brazil

Ianna Lacerda, MD, Federal University Sao Paulo, Brazil

Susan Muir Hunter, PhD, PT, Western Ontario University

Helena Mentis, PhD, University of Maryland

(Return to Top)

RCDC Alumni

Pepper Scholars Novice Trainees Transitioned to Independence
Jennifer Brach PT, PhD Gustavo Almeida, MS, PT Fabrisia Ambrosio, PT, PhD
Kirk Erickson, PhD Bethany Barone-Gibbs, PhD Richard Boyce, PhD
Kimberly Faulkner, PhD Grace Campbell, RN Rakie Cham, BSN, PhD
Susan Hardy, MD, PhD Massimo Cenciarini, PhD Al Fisher, MD
Elizabeth Hile, PT, PhD April Chambers, PhD Steve Handler, MD
Theodore Huppert, PhD Paul Coen, PhD Samay Jain, MD
Laurie Lavery, MD Brooke Coley, PhD Jordan Karp, MD
Zachary Marcum, PharmD Theresa Crytzer, PT, DPT Iva Miljkovic, MD, PhD
Neelesh Nadkarni, MD, PhD Shawn Farrokhi, PhD Smita Nayak, MD
Caterina Rosano, MD, MPH Susan Fuhrman, PhD Sara Piva, PT, PhD
Ervin Sejdic, PhD Nancy Glynn, PhD Kumaravel Rajakumar, MD
Stasa Tadic, MD Jelena Jovancevic, PhD Elizabeth Schlenk, RN, PhD
Gelsy Torres-Oviedo, PhD Kristen Lowry, PhD Michael Schneider, PT, PhD
Rollin Wright, MD, MS Arash Mahboobin, PhD Gwen Sowa, MD, PhD
Linwah Yip, MD Andi Rosso, PhD Patrick Sparto, PhD
Laurie Sanders, PhD Elsa Strotmeyer, PhD
Adam Santanasto, MPH, PhD Josie van Londen, MD
Brian Suffoletto, MD, MS
Carolyn Thorpe, PhD
Shachi Tyagi, MD
Andrea Weinstein, MS
David Wert, PhD, PT
Linwah Yip, MD

(Return to Top)

This website was created by the Center for Research on Health Care (CRHC) Data Center. Contact the webmaster if you are experiencing any problems with this site.